ChristTeen's blog

Top 5 Benefits of Daily AM Bible Study

bible and coffee photo

We all know that reading the Bible is important, but few may realize the benefits of daily study done in the morning.

1.  GET A FIRM FOUNDATION FOR THE REST OF THE DAY -Studying the Bible first thing in the morning will start your day off on the right footing.  By getting His Word into your mind before anything else intrudes, you'll have laid  a strong foundation for the rest of your day.  "Whosoever cometh to me, and heareth my sayings, and doeth them, I will shew you to whom he is like: He is like a man which built an house, and digged deep, and laid the foundation on a rock; and when the flood arose, the stream beat vehemently upon that house, and could not shake it: for it was founded upon a rock." Luke 6:47-48

If Not You, Then Who?

I've come to believe that God often works through His people to answer prayer.   Though He does still provide miracles, most of His work is done by His people.

Have you ever experienced a moment when you saw someone having a hard time or heard something about a problem another Christian was suffering with and thought "I am just the right person to be able to help them"?  Or, conversely, have you ever been in the midst of a problem yourself and, suddenly, seemingly out of the blue, you receive EXACTLY the help that you needed?  Or, have you ever just experienced a series of events that seemed to slip into place just when you needed them because other people had started the sequence, seemingly unknowingly, prior to your needs?  I know that I have certainly experienced all three of these phenomenons, and in those moments, I can feel God working in my life.

In multiple verses throughout the Bible, Christians are

Review: Riley Mae and the Rock Shocker Trek

Riley Mae and the Rock Shocker Trek, second book in the Faithgirlz! The Good News Shoes series, combines faith, fun and action into one good read for tweens.

When Riley Mae's dad helps get her a gig as a spokesperson for the Swiftriver Shoe Company, she gets more than she bargained for. Soon, Riley Mae is up to her neck in adventure again.

The story is fast paced and fun, filled with adventure and a good dose of faith.

Guest Post by Angie Brashear

“Tha-Reee!”

In recent weeks my sons have spent their evenings watching the NBA Finals, energetically cheering on the San Antonio Spurs. Most game nights, their animated antics interrupted me as I attempted to prepare for the release of my debut novel, Of the Persecuted. But it was difficult to get irritated with my handsome, blond blessings. This held especially true when they jumped off the couch screaming "Tha-Reee!" every time the San Antonio Spurs hit a long shot.

Novel for Tweens by Mary Hamilton: Hear No Evil

Hear No Evil (Book 1 of the Rustic Knoll Bible Camp series) Brady McCaul’s first summer camp experience starts off on a sour note when his mom drops him off and tells him he can’t come home. She doesn’t want him living with her anymore. While Brady tries to figure out what he did wrong, he finds loyal friends in his blind but capable cabin mate, Steven, and Steven’s spunky friend, Claire.

Review: Outcasts by Jill Williamson


Okay, I admit it, I've been sucked in to the Safe Lands realm. After reading the first in the Safe Lands series, Captives, I absolutely had to read the second book in the series, Outcasts.

Author Jill Williamson did not disappoint in the second book of the series. It is every bit as exciting and thought-provoking as the first book.

In Outcasts, the group of "outcasts" are all still searching for a way to escape the Safe Lands. Their efforts are thwarted at every avenue by the government and corrupt officials of the Safe Lands. Their children are at risk. Their babies are being stolen. The pressures and addiction-causing environment of the Safe Lands is still slowly battering away at the morals of some of the "outcasts". They are truly desperate to leave.

I couldn't wait to read the entire book, it was quite a page-turner, but when I reached the end, I found myself a little sad that the story was over. I really became interested in the stories of the characters, their moral dilemmas and their plans to try to escape.

Outcasts ends on a bit of a cliff-hanger, so I'll be eagerly awaiting the next book in the series, Rebels, which is due to release later this year. Keep the good stuff coming, Jill Williamson, I'm eager to read more!

Guest Post by Kasey Giard: Favorite Christian Books for Teens


As a parent and reviewer, I’ve read stacks of fabulous books over the last several years, but there are a few that stick with me, ones I find myself returning to like old friends. Here is a short list of my favorites:

Heartless by Anne Elisabeth Stengl – When she finds herself betrothed to a prince who’s not exactly handsome, Princess Una refuses him, falling instead for the handsome jester. In this series debut, Stengl introduces a fun and often unexpected cast of characters, from the cat who isn’t really a cat to a fierce and dangerous dragon.

The Unlikely Debut of Ellie Sweet by Stephanie Morrill – Ellie Sweet is tired of being left out by her friends. Her revenge? She crafts a story in which she is the heroine and the catty ladies-in-waiting get just what they deserve. It’s great, until Ellie’s book is published and her friends discover their roles in the story. Hilarious and heart-wrenching at once.

Glass Girl by Laura Anderson Kurk – After her brother is murdered in a school shooting, Meg and her family move across the country to rural Wyoming. The force of Meg’s grief threatens to shatter her until she meets Henry, a rancher’s son whose gentle affection might be a healing balm to Meg’s soul… if the rumors about his girlfriend turn out to be untrue.

Aquifer by Jonathan Friesen – Fifteen year-old Luca knows one day he will take his father’s place and journey to the depths to barter with the water rats for another year’s supply of water for his people. When the nation’s protectors turn on Luca’s father, he is forced to flee. To survive, he must embrace a faith that doesn’t make sense and step beyond the strict rules and regulations placed on his people by the mysterious Council of Nine. Aquifer is an intense dystopian novel with a hint of romance.

There You’ll Find Me by Jenny B. Jones – Eighteen year-old Finley Sinclair follows her brother’s journal entries on a journey through Ireland, looking for the God he so powerfully encountered in the people and places there. What she finds instead is a Hollywood hunk and a grouchy would-be grandmother. Can she protect her heart, finish her music composition and find God in time for her audition at the New York Conservatory? Fans of Nancy Rue and Stephanie Morrill will love the fun and romance of Jones’s latest novel.

Kasey Giard is an aspiring writer and avid blogger at http://thestorysanctuary.com where she reviews young adult and middle grade novels and includes notes on content. She lives in Florida with her family and two very silly cats. When not reading or writing, she enjoys playing video games, daydreaming, and going to the movies.

Christian Book Series: Legends of Astarkand by Krystine Kercher

Legends of Astarkand follows the adventures of Bjorn Horsa, a young man who has traveled with a handful of close friends, his mentor, Sir Kyle, nineteen knights and one scoundrel to the land of Astarkand where prophecy says he must save the kingdom. To save the kingdom, he must first be acknowledged as Eiathan's and take the throne of Astarkand. Just one problem; Astarkand already has a king--a very bitter, angry man named Olaf, who hates Bjorn and wants to destroy him.

A Shadow on the Land tells the tale of how this conflict plays out. You may recognize similarities to the story of Saul and David from the Old Testament.

Topics this story explores: a damaged environment; civil unrest; corrupt, brutal lords; a petty, spoiled prince (or even two!); handsome heroes, dames in distress; daring rescues and escapes, quirky situational humor, and even a little romance!

King's Ride and Eiathan's Heir continue Bjorn's adventures as he seeks to secure his crown and his kingdom in spite of sorcery and a very hot dragon!

Find out more about my books and print out a nifty bookmark at http://krystinekercher.com/published-books/!

Pages